Moving toward the light

At last, the days are getting longer. It’s nearly 5:30 – dusk – and a tinge of gold still hovers off to the west, proof that sunshine was part of this winter day. The moon glows high in the sky, taking over where the sun left off.  Stars are not far behind.

The fact that there is still a glimmer of daylight at 5:30 is nearly as thrilling as actually being able to see the sun, the moon and the stars. Not only are the days lengthening, but the clouds and rain are taking a break. At least for today.

In the morning, the sun will rise at 7:45. It will set at 7:58, 9 hours, 13 minutes and 5 seconds later, whether we can see it come and go or not. January 18th will be two minutes and one second longer than today. And so it will go, minute by minute, until the the light is victorious.

Today the view from my second story window is the jolt of hope I need to survive February and what’s left of January. It happens every year, when I least expect it: the sudden realization that winter will end and spring will emerge.

As the day fades into night, I am grateful. For the remnants of sunny skies. For the promise of more light, less darkness. And for the reliable rotation of the Earth, spinning us to a brighter place. At least for a while.

4 thoughts on “Moving toward the light

  1. I headed to work around 7:15 this morning with a frosty car but blue skies. The jet trails in the sky were glowing pink. More signs that spring is on the way when I don’t have to drive to work in the dark! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Michel – I’m grateful for the already a little bit longer days too!

  2. bravo Michel! I’m with you on the “where’s the light” longing. February seems to be turn-the-corner month. sometimes it can feel like spring is already here in February. we’re getting close to February, and our anniversaries, birthday (me), Valentine’s Day. an overall great month!

  3. Yippee Michel! I’m so glad to see a blog from you! You know I’m one of your biggest fans, both in friendship and in your words-man-ship! I don’t think that’s a word really, but the meaning is that I think you are one of the most creative writers I know. Congratulations on your blog my dear and I look forward to your posts; maybe a book (one of these days)! I feel Spring is soon around the corner too – little tiny green shoots of the bulbs I planted in the fall are emerging out of the dark cold ground! It also means motorcycle season is soon approaching! Yahoo!

  4. I said to Chuck the same day when leaving work…look at that golden glow, it’s reminding me of the Hawaii sunsets but it’s just a bit cold for that. That light was glorious. I look forward to reading Perch PDX.

Leave a Reply

